Life with MS & EDS

December 8, 2008

Mixed Weekend

Filed under: Uncategorized — by mseds @ 10:40 am
Tags: , , , ,

It was a pretty mixed weekend for me and I will place the blame on both the EDS and MS. At least I know it’s the MS that is causing my fatigue and not some strange case of mono or something. Although, I also blame Big Sister for thinking she can come into our room at 6:45 in the a.m. looking for a hairbrush! Now there’s a way to make mommy grumpy.

I’ve been having a lot of pain at the top of my left leg and in that hip. It comes and goes, but when it’s here, I’m pretty uncomfortable. I’ll attribute this to the EDS. My hypermobility allows my joints to move in ways that eventually anger my muscles and tendons. Until recently this was only a problem in my thumbs (DeQuervain’s). Sitting yoga-style most of the time is now angering my hips. I’ve not yet found a more comfortable way to sit. I guess I need to work on that! Anyway, we were in the car for a 1.5 hour drive up to see friends for their son’s b-day (which was really nice, by the way! We don’t get to see them often enough.) Most of the way there I just could not get comfortable and my hip started hurting worse every moment. I should have asked for Motrin while we were there, but once I was out of the car and moving around a bit it felt better, so I didn’t think about it again until the way back when it hurt again. By the time I got home, either from lack of sleep or the pain, I was not a happy camper. Taking 2 Motrin was enough to help me sleep pretty well and on Sunday I felt a lot better.

I didn’t get to review more of the drug company materials like I had hoped. Now I see why the doctor suggested taking a month to review things. I thought that was a crazy amount of time while we were talking with him, but now I’m thankful to have the opportunity for a leisurely review without the stress of rushing to make a decision.

Oh, I finally figured out how to show my husband what my eyesight looks like in my right eye from the Optic Neuritis. On Friday I was drinking out of a clear glass while working at my laptop. I looked through the glass with my good eye and realized the vision almost matched my right eye. Then I realized I was looking through fingerprints. I covered the glass so that a whole area was filled with fingerprints. I was able to make the words on the computer screen look identical in both eyes. Now, this isn’t a good thing, but I was so excited to finally be able to show someone what I see! I don’t think he was as excited about it as I was since I guess it looked pretty bad, but I did reassure him that my good eye balances things out very well and that he shouldn’t be concerned about me driving!

I hope to go through another pharma package this evening or tomorrow night, assuming I stay awake after the kids go to sleep.

2 Comments »

  1. Yeap, not happy about seeing how bad it is.

    Not unhappy you showed me, just unhappy it is that bad.

    Also, severely concerned about how excited you were to show me.

    Comment by nothingknew — December 9, 2008 @ 6:14 pm

  2. It’s a difficult thing to explain, so I was really happy to be able to closely duplicate what I see. And really I don’t think it’s that bad.

    Comment by mseds — December 9, 2008 @ 7:03 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

