Life with MS & EDS

December 21, 2008

It Could Be Worse!

Filed under: Uncategorized — by mseds @ 9:29 am
Tags: , ,

A year ago this weekend, my husband’s group of friends from college and those of us who married in gathered at UPenn’s hospital to say goodbye to a friend who was passing away. Karen lost her life on December 22, 2007 at the age of 35 after a battle against a very aggressive breast cancer. She was diagnosed in April 2007 and things quickly went downhill from there. She discovered a lump while nursing her then 7-month old daughter, who she called her angel, for without nursing her, she may not have caught it as quickly as she did. Karen was a fighter and her strength was amazing and inspiring. She left behind a loving husband and two little girls (ages one and three.) No child should have to lose a parent before they are even old enough to remember them.

My attitude since being diagnosed with MS is that it could be worse. Much worse. While my vision in my right eye is cloudy and I’m more tired than I should be, my little girls don’t see their mother suffering. There’s no reason to expect that my interactions with them will change at all in the immediate future. They don’t have to watch me suffer through anything like chemo or radiation. My time with them will not be cut short. I feel very fortunate that of all the things that could happen to a person, I just have MS. It’s far better than hearing something like “you have a kind of breast cancer that chemo won’t cure.” It puts things in perspective.

This year instead of gathering around a hospital room we had a holiday party at our house. About 40 friends and family came to celebrate the holiday season. It was great to be surrounded by loved ones, some of whom I get to see pretty frequently and others who I’ve not seen in years. We hosted a holiday party our first year back up here in 2006 and last year had to skip it because of Little Sister’s tonsillectomy, but I’m glad we’ve restarted the tradition and see no reason why it can’t continue for years to come. It’s nice to have things to look forward to.

I hope you all have a very merry Christmas and/or a happy Chanukah and a very wonderful and healthy New Year!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

