Life with MS & EDS

January 22, 2009

Slow Process

Filed under: Uncategorized — by mseds @ 3:31 pm

It feels like I’ve been waiting forever to get started on Copaxone.  I saw my neurologist on Jan. 7th and that’s when the ball started rolling, but it must be headed up hill.  He faxed over forms and the prescription to the SharedSolutions folks.  I called to follow up with them to ensure they arrived.  I had a nice conversation with them and they have sent several things in the mail to me since.  One package was the AutoJect2.  Another was a DVD and information on how to talk with children about MS.  Another was just an intro to ShareSolutions.  The latest was just more information on the drug.  The nurse even called to say hi.

What I’ve yet to receive is the drug!  I’ve called every 5 days or so just to follow up on how things are going.  Today I learned that they got approval from my healthcare company to cover Copaxone for one year.  That got things moving with the mail order pharmacy.  The Shared Solutions rep said it could be another 3 – 5 days before I hear from the pharmacy, but she offered to check with them regarding the status.  I’m glad she did, because they told her they are waiting on a new prescription from the neurologist, even though he sent one with the initial set of forms.  My goodness!

So, I’ll be calling the neurologist shortly to see if the office has already sent over the new script.  My “to wait or not to wait”  decision is being made for me!  It’s difficult to get all psyched up for something and then have this long delay.  I know it’s only been a couple of weeks, but it seems MUCH longer.

In the end I’ll probably be thankful for these few extra shot-free weeks, but right now I’m feeling kind of inpatient.

3 Comments »

  1. Just a heads-up. Once you do get the Copaxone in the mail, prepare to be answering periodic calls from the nurses at Shared Solutions. They do this for the first year to keep tabs on you.

    If you haven’t yet (or they didn’t offer), ask for two refrigerator boxes to hold your syringes and two travel cases which hold 5 syringes at a time. Very convenient to keep a supply of syringes outside of the frig so that they are room temp and ready when you need them.

    Pretty soon, you’ll be shooting up just like the rest of us. 🙂

    Comment by Lisa Emrich — January 24, 2009 @ 8:35 pm

  2. Thanks for the head’s up on the phone calls! I did ask about the travel cases and fridge boxes, but they said they couldn’t send anything until I was officially in their system. Apparently this happens when the meds are shipped, but I’m not 100% sure. It’s good to know how many to ask for. I wasn’t sure what I’d need. We are planning a trip this summer, so I’ll definitely need travel cases. It sounds like they are handy to have around even when not traveling.

    Do you know if they make kid-proof boxes for the fridge? I can’t imagine my little ones getting into them, but better safe than sorry!

    Comment by mseds — January 25, 2009 @ 2:46 pm

  3. The boxes for the fridge do have a very basic key/lock feature. The key has a magnet which you can attach to the fridge door if you want. Copaxone is packaged with 30 syringes in a box, one row having 5 syringes. The fridge box will hold 5 rows of syringes so the 6th can go in the “travel” case. You COULD ask for 3 fridge boxes perhaps, but I just use 2 personally.

    Comment by Lisa Emrich — January 27, 2009 @ 6:08 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

