Life with MS & EDS

February 3, 2009

Medication Arrived

Filed under: Uncategorized — by mseds @ 10:07 pm
Tags: , ,

My first shipment of Copaxone arrived today.  Three boxes of it are now sitting on the top shelf of my fridge, hopefully out of reach of the girls (I couldn’t order the locked fridge boxes yet.)

I didn’t mention anything to my little one, but I did finally say something to my older daughter.  She’ll be 8 years old soon.  She knows something is wrong with my eye and we’ve left it at that.  Today I told her that I am going to start medication tomorrow to help my eye and that it was in those blue boxes.  Then I showed her the red sharps box that is on top of the fridge, which is when I said that the medication is shots.  She looked really concerned.  Then she said, “shots in your eye?!?”  Then I clarified that although they are for my eye, I get to do the shots in my legs, tummy, arms, hips, etc.  She was much better after that.  She knows a couple of people who take insulin, so I explained that it’s just like that.  She hasn’t asked about anything else, so hopefully that was a good enough explanation for her.  She’s a very emotional kid who worries more than she should for her age.  I hope we get to keep this simple.

I’ve always hated having things hid from me.  I’m an only child and still feel like I get treated like a kid sometimes.  My family doesn’t tell me the important things that are going on and always try to shelter me.  I didn’t ever want to do that to my girls.  I hope that as they get older that I can be more open with them.

Tomorrow is training day!  I’m more nervous than I expected (hence the spiked hot chocolate and slice of chocolate cake I’m having for bedtime snack.)  Hopefully I’ll be calmer tomorrow.

2 Comments »

  1. Sounds like you handled it perfectly with your daughter. Just enough information to satisfy her immediate need. No more.

    Good luck with the shot today (if you haven’t already done it). But I think that you’ll do just fine. 🙂

    Comment by Lisa Emrich — February 4, 2009 @ 2:33 pm

  2. Thanks! I’m glad I finally mentioned something. She hasn’t asked any questions and didn’t bring it up today. I think I did find that right balance of just enough information. Mentioning it kind of as an aside worked well. We were cleaning up from dinner and I had the fridge open to put things away. I just kind of pointed at the boxes and told her what they were. If I had made a special discussion out of it, I think she’d have been more upset about it. Timing can be everything!

    Comment by mseds — February 4, 2009 @ 9:26 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

