Life with MS & EDS

February 4, 2009

First Day on Copaxone

Filed under: Uncategorized — by mseds @ 6:31 pm
Tags: , ,

5:40 a.m. – The school district calls to say there’s a two hour delay (we finally got a decent snowfall.)  So much for sleeping in a bit longer.  If I’m woken up after 4 a.m. or so, I can’t get back to sleep.

7:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. – Ate lots of chocolate and tried not to think about the shot.  I eat chocolate when I’m nervous, or upset, or worried, or… you get the picture.

1:15 p.m. – The nurse arrives to do the training.  She was extremely nice and very knowledgeable.  She was reassuring and comforting.  I cannot imagine someone would last long in this business if they weren’t.  She walked me through a booklet they have put together about doing the Copaxone injections.  We practiced on this round blue thing with placebo syringes using the AutoJect and doing it without the device.  We talked about the various injection sites.  I was hoping to avoid the arms, but it doesn’t seem like that’s advisable (although I’m not sure why.)  She showed me proper injection techniques, including making sure I wash my hands, swab the site with alcohol and let it air dry while getting the rest of the stuff together, etc.  She gave me a hot pack, but we didn’t use it for this first time.

Then it was time for me to actually do the injection.  I’m  a wimp and know this.  I easily get nervous.  I stalled a bit.  Then I finally held the AutoJect on my left thigh and eventually pushed the button.  It REALLY stung!  I’ve never been stung by a bee (thank goodness), but apparently that feeling I had from the shot is what that’s like.  I got slightly light headed (but that’s nothing unusual for me;  I get dizzy just standing up), but that passed quickly.  That stinging feeling lasted for about 15 or 20 min.!  There was a bit of seepage and a drop of blood after the shot, so I need to adjust the depth of the AutoJect next time.  We started at about 7, but I carry all of my excess weigh low, so I’ll have to go up to 8 next time.  Lesson learned.

6:15 p.m. – I’m feeling okay now.  There’s a red mark on my leg, but it’s no different than when I got allergy shots and its fading.  I’m tired, but was woken up crazy early so I’ll blame the fatigue on that.  I’m glad I know what to expect now.  I’ve always had a fear of the unknown and am generally not a risk taker.  Now that I know what to expect, I think I’ll be able to handle this better tomorrow for my next shot.

2 Comments »

  1. Congratulations!!

    BTW, I don’t ever do my arms, ever. Plenty of other fleshy places to choose from. LOL.

    Comment by Lisa Emrich — February 4, 2009 @ 10:23 pm

  2. I remember you saying that you don’t inject into your arms. I’m pear-shaped and carry my excess weight lower, so there must be other places to choose from. The nurse had to stick to the party-line and couldn’t suggest alternatives (heck, she couldn’t advise on the right time to use ice.) I thought I’d replace arms with my bottom, but apparently my hips are not where I thought they were. I thought hips would be on the sides, but they are further back than that (closer to where pockets are on jeans), approaching the tush area. That left me wondering where to do shots in the bottom. (You can tell I have young girls. I’ve not said “butt” in ages!)

    Comment by mseds — February 5, 2009 @ 7:26 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

