Life with MS & EDS

April 19, 2009

IV Steroids – Getting Ready

Filed under: Uncategorized — by mseds @ 8:45 pm
Tags: , , ,

Tomorrow is Day One on Solu-Medrol.  On Friday the company called to set everything up.  They asked if they could drop off the supplies later that day, so I said sure.  A gentleman arrived carrying an IV Pole, a white bag full of stuff, and a large silver envelope containing the medication.  I put the Solu-Medrol in the fridge and put the rest of the stuff where the girls couldn’t get to it. 

Later that evening, I took a peak to see what was inside.  Me and my curiosity!  There was a crazy amount of stuff in there.  It was all of the stuff I try not to see while in a hospital.  I was not ready for that.  In case you have to do IV steroids or are helping someone else who is, I took a picture of all of the stuff and thought I’d share it so that you’d know the kind of stuff that was coming:

IV Steroid Stuff

IV Steroid Stuff

In case you are wondering what on Earth all of this is, here’s the packing list:

3 1000 MG Solu-Medrol/Minibags 116.000 ML

4 50MG Diphenhyd/0MG Epinephri 1ML (Just in case I’m allergic)

3 ADM. Set-Gravity w/dial-a-flo 1 EACH

20 Alcohol prep pads

1 AOB (Assignment of Benefits form)

1 bag, Infectous Waste

3 Catheter 24 GA Insyte Autogard

1 Estimated Insurance Form

3 Extension set 12″ Smartsite

4 Heparin Flush 100 Units/ML 5ML Prefilled

2 Infusion end caps

1 IV Pole

3 IV Start Kits

1 Manual (More paperwork)

3 PICC Shower Barrier

1 Sharps Container, 1.3 QT (that must be that strange looking bottle)

8 Sodium Chloride Flush 5 ML, prefill

1 StartOC/Restart/Change Pt Info Pkt

2 Syring 1CC TB 25g 5/8″ SafetyGlide

2 Syringe 3CC 23GX 1″ Safety Glide

The nurse is coming tomorrow afternoon and I’m trying to stay calm, but it’s not easy.  I’ve always hate IVs, not that anyone likes them, but I truly hate them more than the average person.  Here’s one example.  The best thing about Little Sister’s delivery going so quickly was that they didn’t have time to get in the IV.  I clearly remember being told it was too late for the epidural, but the next words out of the nurse’s mouth was that it was too late for the IV, which was the best thing she could have said.  When I first started writing I’m sure I mentioned that I hated needles.  Well, needles are a thousand times better than IVs.  IVs gross me out because they actually stay in my body.  At least needles come right back out. 

When the nurse called this evening to set up the visit time, I asked if she’d keep the IV in or do a new one each day.  She said she prefers to leave it in.  I’ve never had an IV in that long.  The longest has been about 24 hours and that was the most I could tolerate.  Not only does the needle gross me out, but my skin is so sensitive that I have a lot of trouble keeping on adhesive tape for that long.  This is going to be interesting.  I said I’d like to talk with her about it tomorrow, after I see how good she is at getting in the IV (I didn’t tell her that last part.)  That’s the other thing, it’s rather hard to get an IV into me.  During a previous surgery they had to try 3 different spots before they could put me under and I woke up with it in a 4th spot.  I was so black and blue that I looked abused for weeks.  I have faith that this woman will be better than whoever it was that did that to me.  I’m also going to drink a ton of fluid tomorrow morning to make sure my veins are as cooperative as can be!

I’ve scanned a few things others have written about their experiences and tips.  I think they may have just freaked me out more.  I really don’t have any idea of what to expect.  I think I’m about as educated as I’m going to be and I should probably stop searching for more info, just do my nightly shot, and call it a day.

3 Comments »

  1. Best of luck tomorrow. Although I don’t have some of the issues that you have IV steroids have been a lifesaver for me. Hang in there!

    Comment by GG — April 19, 2009 @ 11:18 pm

  2. I understand what you are going through have a IV in right now, need 5 days of treatment. I am not afraid of needles but I had IV’s expecially in the hand. I have very small veins and there always drama when it time to put it in. I suggest to the nurse to use a pediatric IV you might keep that in mind for next time. Good luck and don’t feel like the lone ranger!

    Comment by Donna — June 2, 2009 @ 2:45 pm

  3. Hey Donna! I get the pediatric needles when getting blood taken. It didn’t occur to me to ask about that for the IV. I know the IV I had was smaller than what they use in the hospital, but I don’t think it was that small. I refuse to let them do IVs in my hand unless they really can’t find a vein in the bend of my arm. At least up there I can cover it when I’m not getting the treatment. I couldn’t stand looking at it all of the time!

    I hope your treatment is going well and that the side effects are manageable. Do you find that it takes longer to get the medication in with a smaller needle or does that not matter? Are you able to keep the IV in for the full 5 days or do they change it out.

    Good luck with the treatment!!

    Comment by mseds — June 3, 2009 @ 9:54 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

