Life with MS & EDS

April 27, 2009

Prednisone – Day Five

Filed under: Uncategorized — by mseds @ 1:09 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I still don’t feel like myself, however I’m far better than last week.  I have a bit more energy today, although I feel like I’m in a fog.  Energy does not equal brain power, unfortunately.  Simple spreadsheets were more of a challenge than I expected this morning, but the haze is lifting this afternoon.  My hunger level is increasing today, too.  I feel like I could just keep eating and eating!  I’m trying to resist, but it’s not easy!

I saw the dermatologist today.  He wasn’t surprised that my skin reacted so well while on the steroids, but confirmed what I was reading that eventually things would swing the other way.  Although, since I had such a great response to the medication, he’s adding a topical treatment that should keep up the progress.  He prescribed Elidel, which is mainly used to treat eczema, but has shown promise in helping rosacea, too.  The side effects seem minimal.  There’s a slight risk of cancer, but I’d basically have to eat a few tubes of it, so that isn’t a big concern.  I hope the new medicine works!

At some point I need to start walking to get ready for the MS Walk this weekend.  I did okay walking at Sesame Place yesterday and am not in any pain from it today, but I can’t imagine that was more than a mile or so and I’m not sure going from that to 4+ miles this weekend without prep is a smart idea.  We just got Little Sister her first tricycle and Big Sister her first scooter.  Although it will be hot this evening, we’re going to try to get over to the playground at school to let them have some time with their new toys and for me to walk a bit.  Hopefully my energy will last through then.

2 Comments »

  1. I’m so sorry for what you’ve been going through. IVSM and prednisone do not make for very happy people that’s for sure! As you probably saw on my blog, I didn’t do the solumedrol this time because my insurance doesn’t cover it. All I did was 1000 mg of oral prednisone followed by the taper. It seems to be working really well, but I was skeptical. I thought it wouldn’t do the job like solumedrol. I’m hoping in the future (far, distant future) that if I need steroids again, that oral will be all I need.
    Take care and get better! We have lots of walking to do this weekend!
    Erin

    Comment by Abby — April 28, 2009 @ 10:48 am

  2. OOps-just noticed my name was wrong on the last comment. Oh well. Stop by my blog when you get a chance. I have an award waiting there for you!

    Comment by Erin — April 28, 2009 @ 10:49 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

