Life with MS & EDS

May 4, 2009

Prednisone – Day Twelve

Filed under: Uncategorized — by mseds @ 6:13 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Finally, it’s my last day on Prednisone!  The end of this steroid treatment cycle has arrived!  Wahoo!  What a crazy two weeks this has been.  The past couple of days while on just 20mg have been pretty good.  I still have the metallic taste in my mouth, my senses are still heightened, I’m still wide awake at 11 p.m., I’m still overeating, and my reflux is still bad, although not as bad as it was.  My mood has returned to close to normal.  Unfortunately, my rosacea is also returning.  Oh well.  I knew clear skin was too good to last.

I’ve honestly not noticed any change in my symptoms after doing the steroids.  I actually developed a new symptom the middle of last week.  In addition to the tingling in my left arm that started last month, I now have a top lip that quivers, mainly left of center.  It’s not very noticeable and it comes and goes, but I can feel it and Hubby can see it if he looks very closely.  That’s two new symptoms in a matter of a month.  Hopefully this will slow down!

I’m not happy with the amount of weight I’ve gained in the past 6 months.  I think it’s about 20 lb., including the steroid-weight gain.  Tomorrow will be my first day off of the drugs, but it’s also Little Sister’s dental surgery.  So, starting Wednesday, Hubby and I are doing Weight Watchers again.  We shook on it tonight.  After Big Sister was born, I lost 50 lb. doing WW before Little Sister was born.  I’ve put all of that back on and more.  It’s time for it to go.  The MS Walk this weekend got me moving.  I need to keep that up.  I also need to stop eating like crap.  I’ll allow for emotional/stress eating tomorrow, but then we’re counting Points starting Wednesday.  Last time I had at-work meetings for support and accountability.  Since I telework and don’t have easy access to meetings, I’m going to go it alone, with just Hubby and friends who also count Points, and will try to use the blog to hold myself accountable.  We’ll see how it goes!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

