Life with MS & EDS

June 10, 2009

Big Day for Little Sister

Filed under: Uncategorized — by mseds @ 8:27 pm
Tags: , ,

Today was a big day for Little Sister.  She lost her first tooth and had a ballet/tap/gymnastics recital tonight!

Big Sister had a friend over after school and Little Sister was upset that they didn’t want to play with her.  She was up in her room screaming and crying.  I started making dinner and eventually she came downstairs.  I went over to give her a hug and she hands me her tooth!  Of course I made a big fuss.   I figured it had just happened.

About 30 min. later she tells me that she’s been keeping her tooth in her pocket.  I asked when it fell out and apparently it happened at school this morning!  I asked why she didn’t say anything, but she didn’t have a reason.  She knew that if it fell out that she had to put it somewhere safe until she could put it into her tooth fairy box.  While I think it’s weird that she didn’t tell anyone at all, I’m glad I got to be the first one to find out!

We expected the worst for her recital tonight.  She’s been participating as best she can during ballet, but usually spends tap making funny faces in the mirror when she’s not trying to hold onto the wall or table so that she doesn’t feel like she’s going to fall over.  She just doesn’t seem confident in tap shoes.  During gymnastics she likes running around, but the rest is a challenge, so she tends to goof-off.  Tonight she did fantastic!  I was so proud of her.  She certainly wasn’t the best in the class, but she tried so hard tonight and you could see how proud she was of what she was able to do.  She even tried some tap moves without holding onto something.  It was great to watch!  I also appreciate her teachers for working with her at her level.  They even brought out the balance beam that stays on the floor so that she could do the beam part.

All in all it was a great day for her!  It snapped me out of my blogging drought that was brought on after her IEP meeting a couple of weeks ago.  It got me down and I’ve been meaning to write about it, but just haven’t had the time.  I’ll try to write more about that in the next couple of days.

2 Comments »

  1. I want pictures! I’m glad she is doing well!!!

    Comment by Sherita — June 12, 2009 @ 12:37 pm

  2. Thanks for your wonderful and uplifting blog. Recently Dx’d, you’ve helped set my mind at ease. I hsve a 4 year old daughter and 17mo old son w/ Down Syndrome.. Scared of my future but pray for it

    Kel

    Comment by Kel — June 12, 2009 @ 2:16 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

