Life with MS & EDS

July 6, 2009

No, my husband doesn’t abuse me

This weekend we had a fantastic time down the shore for the 4th of July.  It was the best 4th of July weekend I’ve had since before Little Sister was born.  Five years ago we were sitting around at home waiting for her to be born any day.  Four years ago, she was about to turn 1 and was very sick.  Three years ago she was also sick and it was one of our many trips to the urgent care center while at the beach.  Two years ago, she could finally hear well and was scared to death of loud noises, so no fireworks for me either.  I think she was sick then, too, but honestly most of her high fevers are a blur now.  Last year we were at home instead of at the beach.  We did get to see fireworks, but it was from very far away because she was still scared to bits of the noise.

This year, now almost 5, she finally agreed that it was okay to see the fireworks.  We sat on the beach and she watched them in my lap.  She spent the first 5 minutes or so with her hands over her ears.  We were far enough back that they really weren’t very loud and, even more important, we couldn’t feel them!  I finally convinced her to take her hands off and we had a great conversation.  She loved the fireworks!  It was such a fun night!

The only downside of this wonderful weekend away was that two nights involved arm shots.  Arm shots are still going very poorly.  Both Thursday and Friday’s shots were painful and there was a good amount of blood.  My arms bruise from the Copaxone shots in a way that other shot locations don’t.  For days afterward, I have big, three-inch red circles in the shot location.  It itches terribly, too.  It’s not as bad during the winter because no one sees them, but it’s hard to hide during the summer.  We were getting ready to go to the beach and I was joking about the bruises with my husband.  He suggested that I need a t-shirt saying, “No, my husband doesn’t beat me.  I just have MS & EDS!”

Hope you all had a great 4th!

1 Comment »

  1. When I was on Copaxone, my arms were a mess. As the weather started warming up, I stopped doing my shots there altogether. Now I’m on Rebif and do the shots only in my upper legs and stomach. I often wonder what people think when I wear shorts and they can see all the marks on my legs. The marks aren’t as bad as when using Copaxone, but they are still ugly and bright red.

    Comment by Erin — July 7, 2009 @ 3:08 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

