Life with MS & EDS

August 26, 2009

Not Lyme!

Filed under: Uncategorized — by mseds @ 5:45 pm
Tags:

On Sunday Little Sister complained that her thigh itched.  She scratched it a lot, so I wasn’t surprised it was red when I looked at it.  Same thing happened on Monday.  Last night, however, she was watching bed-time video and I got a good look at it.  It was a huge red bull’s eye on her inner left thigh.  I of course promptly Googled “red bull’s eye rash” and the hits were all about Lyme.  Lovely.

I called her primary doctor and explained what I saw.  A nurse called me back within 5 minutes and said to bring her in first thing this morning.  Little Sister has seen so many doctors for so many things that I always feel terrible dragging her to yet another appointment!  She was momentarily excited that Mommy was taking her to school today for a change, until I told her we had to stop by the doctor’s office first.  The she was quite upset!  I did was any good mom would do – bribed her.  I said we’d get a treat afterward for on the way to school.

The appointment went well.  Of course when we were there the rash looked far better than it did last night.  It wasn’t as red, wasn’t a bull’s eye (knew I should have taken a picture so they didn’t think I was nuts!), and was generally not too bad.  The doctor did think that there was a skin infection though.  It’s red, warm to the touch, and not as symmetrical as a Lyme rash.  He prescribed an antibiotic to take for 7 days and told me to keep an eye on it.  Hopefully this will improve quickly and not turn into anything worse!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

