Life with MS & EDS

April 8, 2010

Bendy Ankles

Filed under: Uncategorized — by mseds @ 7:56 pm
Tags: ,

It was just a matter of time before this happened.  I knew one day my age would catch up with me or my luck would run out.  I’ve always had bendy ankles.  Most of my joints are bendy thanks to EDS, but my ankles are among my bendiest joints.

I’ve never been able to wear narrow heals or even completely boxy heals if they were over 2″.  While walking around, even in sneakers, my ankles will just bend in, without warning, and pop right back up again.  I knew eventually I wouldn’t pop right back up again.  Today was that day.

I was rushing around during my lunch break to buy supplies for Big Sister’s birthday.  I had to get back to my office for a 1 p.m. meeting.  I was walking quickly across the grocery store parking lot.  I was wearing my awesome Dansko sandals.  It’s probably the 4th time I’ve worn them this year since it’s been so warm.  I made one wrong step, my ankle collapsed, and I nearly fell down.  I somehow caught my balance, which is worse than it used to be from MS.  I just stood there for a moment, unable to walk, with two bags in my hand thinking maybe I should have taken the check-out lady up on the “do you need carry-out service?” offer!

I had about 5 minutes to get back to my office and knew I had to get home.  I managed to get to the car and got home just in time.  I called into my meeting,  limped to the freezer for our trusty frozen bag of peas, threw it on the ground a few times to break it apart, and plopped it onto my ankle.

After all of those times my ankles bent in, I’ve finally twisted it!

1 Comment »

  1. I feel bad for you! Yes I feel like a wooden marionette sometimes. I just found a big leak in my tennis shoes. They were only 7 months old. apparently I drag the one foot sort of and simply wore out the rubber sole near the tip. And now I am tripping on the piece that sticks out. Not fair!!!

    Comment by karen — April 9, 2010 @ 11:05 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

