Life with MS & EDS

June 28, 2011

Dear Rebif

Filed under: Uncategorized — by mseds @ 8:38 am
Tags: , , , ,

Dear Rebif,

It’s time that we part ways. I’m moving on as you don’t fit well in my life.  You are far too high maintenance.  You waste three nights a week and the occasional next morning.  If you were as easy to inject as insulin, maybe I’d keep you around, but you’re not.  Before injecting, I need to make sure to drink at least 2 liters of water, sometimes closer to a gallon.  If my pee isn’t clear, I won’t inject.  I have to take 2 Aleve, warm the injection site with a heat pack, rub on alcohol, wait for that to dry a bit, then finally inject, endure the pain, put heat on again, and ensure to go to sleep within an hour so that you don’t make me sick. For months you gave me the flu.  Yes, it was gone by around 11 the next morning and yes, it’s a rare occurrence now, but I still need to plan for the chance you’ll wreck my sleep and the next morning.  You’ve also abused me.  I am tired of the itchy red spots that turn black and blue.  I bet people think my husband has been abusing me, but no, that’s all you, Rebif.  I’ve had enough.  I can’t even tell if you are doing any good and studies are questioning if you are of any use.  I’ve thankfully had no disabilities (unless you count Optic Neuritis) since my symptoms arrived in 2001.  I took nothing until 2008 (not intentionally, but that’s another story) and can’t say I’ve noticed any improvements since starting injections for MS.  You can take it personally if you want, but it’s not just you.  I dumped Copaxone before you.  You CRAB (Copaxone, Rebif, Avonex, and Betaseron) drugs just aren’t my type.  You’re cramping my quality of life.  It’s time to try something new.  I’m going to give Gilenya a try.  Hopefully the pill will be more my speed.

Take care,

Ivy

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

